Description of Madame Dessalines

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This is the first time I stumble upon a description of Madame Dessalines, the 'official' wife of Jean Jacques Dessalines. It was published on February 14, 1805 in The Otsego Herald, a newspaper somewhere in New York state. Seem to me that Dessalines' wife was probably doing some fooling around on the side, because her interest seem to have been just towards the men. Apparently she was very handsome looking too.

Madame_Dessalines.jpg

Does anyone have any other type of information about her? Any interesting sources?

She was the first First Lady of Haiti; and, at that time, the most powerful black woman in the world.

Aug 6, 2006
Her face is attractive, but her body is thick, clumsy and vulgar looking. Sort of mixed signals.

At least she has a ftrong preoffeffion for Frenchmen.

El Mayimbe

Jan 25, 2015
Why would DR1 be interested in the looks of a typically ugly haitian? Forgive me for being blunt

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I have never seen a portrait of her. Considering the article was printed in 1805 in what was a very white and very prejudiced country (USA), if the author says she had a handsome face, I will take that at face value.

I am interested in more information about her. I think she merits some attention. She's described mostly in positive terms which, again taking into consideration the time period and the place, means she must had to be quite striking in a positive way as per those points.

Her husband was never described in such positive form. That guy was depicted as extremely ugly, extremely cruel, a brute that couldn't read or write and yet had the power of life and death over many people.

CFA123

Silver
May 29, 2004
df70da815db12cb8f4b608f5ea54aad5.jpg

http://www.magazinetransatlantique.com/fr/articles/2015/notes_conference/index.html

Google translation

MARIE-CLAIRE CLAIRE FELICITE DESSALINESMARIE-Dessalines
(1758-1858)

Origin: