CAT (TAC) scan - possible cancer or botched operation

GringoRubio

Bronze
Oct 15, 2015
Question for the North Coasters....

I'm trying to find a reasonably priced CAT scan for a woman that has extreme pain in her abdomen after an operation to remove a tumor. We've been referred to a clinic in Santo Domingo, but seems fairly distant when Santiago is just over the small mountains.

We're looking for cancer, but it could also be a botched operation. We live in puerto plata.

Ecoman1949

Born to Ride.
Oct 17, 2015
Question for the North Coasters....

I'm trying to find a reasonably priced CAT scan for a woman that has extreme pain in her abdomen after an operation to remove a tumor. We've been referred to a clinic in Santo Domingo, but seems fairly distant when Santiago is just over the small mountains.

We're looking for cancer, but it could also be a botched operation. We live in puerto plata.

I'm not an expert on diagnostic imaging but I'm guessing an MRI would be better than a CAT scan because the imaging is more in depth. A friend of mine was treated in the fairly new private hospital in Santiago. She said they had full diagnostic capabilities there. She had private medical insurance and ended up there because of a mild heart attack. An MRI from a private diagnostic clinic in Canada can cost $2000 to $3000 dollars. 

Feb 7, 2007
The MRI cost in CEDIMAT is about 8,000 pesos or so ... according to the invoice/claim form I signed there which they sent to my insurance company (my out of pocket cost was 0).

Even if this is a contracted rate, self-payment rate could be 10,000 or so, probably not more.

jinty05

Bronze
Feb 11, 2005
MRI in Centro Medico, Santiago runs at $9,000 pesos. The unit is located in the basement area.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
CMC is Sos/Cab has a CT scan... I use it every 3-4 months.

Can't remember the price but 8,000 sounds right...
Insurance pays for me... I pay 2,000 or so.

Saturdays are light traffic there in the AM