Last name question

niki-pooh

Sep 20, 2002
Hi. I'm a national from Dominican Rep and married to a swede and i have a que about last name changes. I'd like to take his last name or to hyphenate mine adding his. The thing is that here (D.R.) a married woman takes the husband name after hers followed by 'de', for ex: if Lisa Woo got married to John Doe, according to the dominican laws she'd become Lisa Woo de Doe. I'd like to know if taking his last name would be legal here when i register the change in my cedula or driver's license, or how can i handle having a legal name here and another legal name there. Also about the children names, cuz according to their laws, a children with 2 last names mean their parents aren't married (unlike here).

Pib

Goddess
Jan 1, 2002
www.dominicancooking.com
I am not a lawyer, but from what I've heard you can only use your husband's name for social purposes, not for legal purposes. You'll still keep your own surname unless you go thru a legal name change. Something I've heard lawyers say is long, complicated and expensive.

YMMV

niki-pooh

Sep 20, 2002
what do u mean with 'you can only use your husband's name for social purposes, not for legal purposes'?

Last edited:

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
She means that you can say at a party that you are Niki Johansen. But anything legal must be Niki Perez de Johansen

Your children are Johansen Perez here and just Johansen there, unless you go to the states where they get confused and then they will be Perez, until you straighten them out....

HB

niki-pooh

Sep 20, 2002
oh i see. so then there's basically no problem with the name thing? i can be niki johansen according to the swedish laws and niki perez de johansen according to our laws?

won't this bring me any problems when i register my children here or there?

thx a lot. to me this is confusing and i'm moving to sweden soon.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002