Passport Questions

Jigglebelly

Aug 12, 2003
Hello Everyone!

I followed the Canadian passport question thread with great interest. Still, there are a few important details that were not covered. My biggest worry is having my passport confiscated at the airport when I try to leave the US.

Before I ask my questions I want to assure everyone that I am not a tax protester ( I file the short form and always overpay) nor am I a criminal fugative ( I have never even had a parking ticket ). I do have a vengeful, sociopathic ex so, I am never sure whether I am under investigation at any given time.

Anyway, I understand that you need to give two copies of your passport in your application for residency. Do I really need to bring the origional or can I have the two copies mailed from the states?

Also, if i were to bring my passport what are the chances of it being inspected on the way out?

Should I try to smuggle it through Mexico? ---- (jeez this sounds paranoid doesn't it?)

When I make my "tire kicking" visit, I won't bother to bring it. at all. Just trying to plan ahead.

Sorry this was so long. Thanks in advance.

Keith R

"Believe it!"
Jan 1, 2002
www.temasactuales.com
No one will inspect your passport on the way out of the US to the DR. And you can get into the DR on the strength of your driver's license and a tourist card.

Smuggling your passport through Mexico does sound paranoid.

You can make the copies that you'll need for your residency process in the US before you leave, but you'll still need the passport itself throughout the residency application process. I don't think there's any way around that. In fact, some of those copies will have to be certified as authentic copies, which involves comparing them with the original document (i.e., the passport). We had to have this done at Citizen's Services at the consulate in SD.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Keith

Jigglebelly

Aug 12, 2003