Non Canadians returning to Canada

New rules will take effect on Dec. 31, 2003 that would prevent you from returning to Canada if you are not a Canadian citizen and do not have a permanent resident (PR) card. PR replaces the paper IMM 1000 Record of Landing document.

As of December 31, 2003, permanent residents returning to Canada without a valid PR card will not be permitted to board their carrier. They will have to contact the nearest Canadian embassy or consulate to obtain a limited use travel document to re-enter Canada at a cost of $50 for each one.

Apparently a lot of people don't know about this change, I thought I would mention it here in case anyone is affected while on vacation in the DR.

More information can be found at http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/pr-card/index.html

rmary

Oct 4, 2003
This is a good point to raise (hence the bump). I am a permanent resident of Canada and have carried around my landing paper in my passport for years. It wasn't until the last time that I flew back from the DR in February that anyone questioned it. It turns out that my document expired in 1997!!!!!!! No one had ever brought that to my attention and I fly in and out of Canada at least three times a year.

I moved here in 1990, and at that time they told me that they would be bringing in these "Permanent Resident" cards shortly. Ah, Canadian bureaucracy. Gotta love it.

Rose

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
Become a Citizen

rmary said:
This is a good point to raise (hence the bump). I am a permanent resident of Canada and have carried around my landing paper in my passport for years.

If you aren't a citizen of a country that doesn't allow dual citizenship you should apply to become a Canadian, the test is pretty easy and then you can get a citizen ID card or passport and not worry about these landed immigrant status issues.

marliejaneca

Bronze
Oct 7, 2003
WHAT TEST ????

RickToronto - What test are you talking about ??