Pessimistic Views are the Creators of Failure

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Few people understand that in order for a goal to be met, one has to vision one's self achieving that goal prior to its actual achievement. Of course, the only people who knows that very well are the people who are successful in whatever they put their minds towards it.

First of all, I am not 100% in favor of the Metro, however the way the critics have been trying to discredit this project makes me slightly uneasy. I truly believe that the logic behind the critics is a main reason for why the DR has not reached the level of development it would have otherwise had by this time.

In his most recent speech, Leonel compared the DR to Depression Era USA (which economically the DR mirrors the USA of the 1920s and 1930s, with a few exceptions) and with the Eiffel Tower in Paris.

The critics responded by saying that the DR is neither the US or France.

That's a fair response to a certain extent, but could that be the reason for our limitations when it comes to sustaining prosperity and economic growth?

Afterall, when Juan Pablo Duarte, Mella, and Sanchez decided to fight the Haitians to create a new sovereign nation, these men got their inspiration from France and the US!

These men did not thought that because they were in a country occupied by Haitian forces, that they were not going to persue their dream of a new country!

These men never thought that Santo Domingo was not the US or France for them to achieve a victory against the Haitian troops.

In the contrary! These men saw in their minds a new sovereign land they would eventually call the Dominican Republic, they got their inspiration from other successful nations rather than imbellishing in failure states, and they drew up a brilliant plan that was followed through and achieved!