And nobody backs down....

Status
Not open for further replies.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It's always interesting to read posts here, especially when the thread focuses on race identifications in the DR and rest of the world vs. the US version.

One thing that I find interesting is not that Dominicans and the rest of the world recognize a mixed person when a person is mixed vs. the US simply lumping up mixed with unmixed peoples (not just among Afro-Americans, but also with Hispanics all being lumped up into one category as if we are all the same).

The interesting thing is how the American influenced peoples firmly maintain their belief and don't attempt to move out of their mentality, just how the Dominicans do the same with their perspective.

I guess the question is this, why is it that neither side is willing to give up their beliefs?

Is it culture shock? Is it cultural misinterpretation? Is it arrogance?

The American influenced people claim (theoretically) that if you are not white, you are black.

Most of the world (DR included) claims that if you are not white, you may be black, but then again, there are shades of gray in between.

Why is it that when these two ideas come into contact, neither side is willing to give up his/her stance?

I would like the answers to be personal, not academically answered. What do you personally think this is so?

Naufrago

Sep 1, 2004
Is this really NalOwhs asking? Your post seems far too short and concise? And you don't want an academic answer either?