I need some help with my travel decisions!!!

kelleygirl

Apr 6, 2005
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this website, so Hi :)

I am traveling to the Dominican Republic for the 2nd time on April 30. Last year, I traveled during Easter (my 1st mistake) and I booked the trip through Expedia (my 2nd mistake). I had a great time at the Barcelo Capella (despite getting 2nd degree burns 3 days into the week) but will never book a vacation package through a travel agent (online or off) again. I booked the hotel through the barcelo website (this year I am staying at the Colonia Tropical). I have not booked my airfare as of yet, because I do not know if it is going to go down in price.

As of right now, the AA quoted price from JFK to SDQ round trip departing 4/30 and returning 5/7 is $358.55 per person. I looked a little more into the flight times that I am interested in and there are at least 150 available seats per flight, with nearly 3 weeks to go before take off...

Does anyone know if the airlines tend to lower their fares as they get closer to the flight date if the tickets don't sell? What is usually the cut-off, what do you reccomend I do??? I am planning on purchasing the tickets this weekend because I don't want to gamble with the price going up and I am not too sure if it is going to go down.

Another question (sorry this is so long-- I have a lot to say :)). I have also checked flights to STI via Jet Blue. The prices are a lot cheaper than flying AA to SDQ. How long does it take to get from STI to Juan Dolio/San Pedro de Macoris? Am I just better off spending the extra money and flying into SDQ?

Please help in any way you can!!

Kelley :eek:

Last edited:

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
That price is pretty good so don't expect much. Also the seatmaps do not show sold tickets just unbooked seats, and there is a HUGE difference on AA. Ask yourself this: Is maybe $20 later worth nothing later?