ESL Teacher looking for work in SD

Status
Not open for further replies.

joser

Mar 29, 2006
Hi, I am a Canadian ESL teacher and I have only 1 year experience teaching English. I have a college diploma in TESL and I am having a hard time finding a good position in SD. Heres how my interviews went:

The American School of Santo Domingo - 24,000 monthly no housing no visa
told me to email them in March and never responded.

Instututo (I think it was Dominicano Americano, something like that)- 2$ per hour, no visa no housing no medical (They wanted me right away but the pay is to low)

New Horizons- 24,000 monthly including shared accomodations (said that they would call me, never did)

School of Carol morgan- told me their other applicants had higher education than I, so forget about it

Now, does any one have any suggestions where I would have any luck
with my experience and education?
I prefered sharred accomodations, visa airfare and at least 24,000 pesos.
Does anyone know of anything close to that being offered in SD?

Thanks for your help
josie

expatsooner

Bronze
Aug 7, 2004
Call New Horizons and the American school again. It is almost always up to the applicant to pursue the job, esp. in a long-distance situation. Just passively taking on the role of they didn't call back so I am going to give up won't get you any jobs.

joser

Mar 29, 2006
I have called New Horizons

I have called the school and they told me they will mail me a letter regarding a second interview in May. I guess I have to accomodate myself and pay for my airfare again.

expatsooner

Bronze
Aug 7, 2004
You have to invest to rake in that lucrative $750 a month . Shopping for appliance cartons for housing is a top priority. - ricktoronto

Come on Rick, cut joser some slack. I agree the salarie is not great but it also includes housing as a perk, so no need for the cartons. ;)