North Coast vacation in june

Status
Not open for further replies.

Busala

Apr 9, 2006
This is my first time posting. The information I've gotten from this forum is more helpful than anything I've found online. Maybe you all can help steer me in the right direction for my first DR vacation.

I'm going to DR June 8-12.
From what I've read so far, the North Coast seems like a good fit for me. I'm just not sure how to narrow down my search. Basically I'm looking for a place that is not AI. I would much rather walk into town for food, drinks etc.
I would like to be on the beach, have a pool and be within walking distance to places to have a beer and some local food.
Sosua and Puerto Plata look good. Any suggestions?

It's for two adults, flying into Santiago. Our idea of a good time is reading a book on the beach, drinking beer, walking around...yeah, we're pretty boring. Something more on the quiet side would suit us. Thank you in advance for any advice.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I'd go out on a big limb and say that for that short a stay, Tropix would be perfect. Quiet, yet within walking distance of most of what you want to do, so type in Tropix in the Search function and check them out. Also go to debbiesdominicantravels.com and see what people have said about the place.

There is also a good thread on where to eat in Sos?a.

/enjoy

HB:p

mrchris74

Mar 14, 2006
Also consider Hotel Waterfront in Sosua. I stayed there last month for $25 (no a/c) and $30 (with a/c). The rooms are just ok (the fridge must have been 35 years old!) but everything else is really nice. Its on Playa Alicia (which is better than Sosua beach because there are no shops), it has a pool, a good restaurant, friendly service and you can walk to everything in Sosua from there. Its the best deal I've found in the DR.

Hope this helps.

Chris

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com