First trip in 5 years

Clampett 1

Aug 11, 2006
Ok, so after 5 years or so I went back to visit the place where I was born. I was in DR for 10 days. I expected to somehow find Santo Domingo very different now mainly because I hear about all of the new construction and the new modern changes that have happened in the last few years.
After being there for just a couple of days, I was ready to return on the third. I guess I have lived in the US too long and can no longer get used to certain aspects of the old city.
I stayed in a nice hotel in the colonial zone, had a car to drive around and I was pretty much prepared to endured all of the toughness the city brings. I still find it very difficult to simply be there. The black outs, the crazy traffic, the high level of danger in the streets and the dirt all over the city was a serious disappointment to me. I am a seasoned Dominican driver, I can get around with very little problem, but it bothers me that after so many years of this latest push to modernize the city, the driving is so difficult and people just don't mind traffic rules. There are tons of police all over, but it does not matter.
The blackouts are out of control. In some places of the city, the electricity only come on once or twice a day and of course that means that unless there is a traffic cop making sure traffic flows, you have to push your way through an intersection. Lord, I am glad that I had the insurance on my car paid.
Water shortage is very normal. You would think that in a place with so much water flowing all around and people paying for water as much as they pay, water would not be a problem. People have to often buy water from private vendors in order to shower and such.