Hi - Newbie here !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lonewolf

Jan 26, 2007
Hi

We're off to Dominican Republic this year for the first time. We're staying at the Iberostar Costa Dorada.

I'll probably have a million questions, but can I start by asking if US Dollars are widely accepted ? The exchange rate against sterling is very good at the moment so I want to get some if I can use them there.

Cheers

BettyB2

Mar 9, 2006
Welcome

Hi Lonewolf and welcome to DR1 - the best site ever for information on the Dominican Republic with a bunch of great folks to help you out.

I sent you a PM (private message) and from what everyone has told me, YES, the US dollar is pretty much accepted everywhere but change may be given in pesos so have small bills if you need to purchase souveniers and dont want to take pesos home.

Kyle

Silver
Jun 2, 2006
welcome lonewolf to DR1. i would probably do a "search" on the subject matter you are interested in first.

again welcome...

ZEUS

Bronze
Feb 14, 2003
Welcome, Lonewolf. Iberostar is just great! I was there about 2 years ago and it was fantastic. Enjoy your stay in my DR. Yes, mine (I'm dominican)

Zeus

KeithF

Jul 9, 2006
www.cabarete.org
The exchange rate against sterling is very good at the moment so I want to get some if I can use them there.

Cheers

Hello,

You will get some people saying differently but DON'T take dollars unless you want to waste money. I got back from DR yesterday and I used my visa debit card to withdraw cash from an ATM.