Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Safety concerns for single women in DR?

Hi all...I have browsed this site for awhile & have found alot of good info here, so I'm hoping I can get some help/insight on this issue-

I'm a public administration graduate student. I'm interested in applying for an internship next summer with the United Nations office in Santo Domingo. I was talking to my ex-boyfriend about this (whose family is from DR) & he strongly advised me against the whole idea citing safety concerns- theft, kidnapping, sexual assault. Any advice on the matter would be appreciated- thanks!

On Vacation!
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by lowkey View Post
    Hi all...I have browsed this site for awhile & have found alot of good info here, so I'm hoping I can get some help/insight on this issue-

I'm a public administration graduate student. I'm interested in applying for an internship next summer with the United Nations office in Santo Domingo. I was talking to my ex-boyfriend about this (whose family is from DR) & he strongly advised me against the whole idea citing safety concerns- theft, kidnapping, sexual assault. Any advice on the matter would be appreciated- thanks!

INSTRAW has good Security Service and is centrally located.
    So as long as you do not leave the premises you will be allright.

*** Sin Bin ***
    Post Thanks / Like

1. don't take advice from an EX-boyfriend.
    2. Safety is a matter of common sense.
    3. Find your calling in the DR

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like that boy has got much greater concerns than your safety.
    That advice just screams out loud :" Please don't go"
    Kidnapping?? Come on now. My guess is you'll be safer in the DR capital doing what you'll be doing than most young ladies in most major US cities.

Post Thanks / Like