English speaking Personal Injury Lawyer

Status
Not open for further replies.

howardcohen

Oct 17, 2007
I work for a firm of solicitors in England and we currently have a case concerning a lady who tripped on a raised brick edging to an ornamental pool in a hotel reception in Playa Dorada. In order to have any success in this case I need to find out what, if any, regulations are in place in the Dominican Republic with regards to health and safety.
This is quite urgent so if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.
Hayley

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I am not a lawyer. You should address your legal issues to (The Dominican Republic Law Firm: Guzman Ariza, Attorneys at Law.) for your very best advice.

However, experience shows that an extremely few number of these cases are even put on the docket.

Unless you can prove negligence on the part of the hotel, the architect's design as flawed, or the constructor's lack of supervision, I can't see where such a case would prosper.

HB

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago
From what I understand, punitive awards aren't accepted as part as legal process here so more than likely any award would be just to cover the medical costs in DR currency.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Also as a non resident or national you will need to post bond in order to take the hotel to court. The way the court system works here (buddy network), it could be a very high bond.

Personally I think your client is wasting their time, unless they have a huge amount of money and time to burn.

Janin

On Vacation....
Jul 31, 2007
Stepped on a banana skin?

I have seen uncovered openings in sidewalks which - once stepped in - would lead one to certain death.

Here more than in any other place it's important:
Watch Your Step!

If you don't and get hurt, nobody will ever be responsible for anything... :tired:

Janin

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com