Driving SDQ to Sosua and my dilema...

nlove88

Aug 12, 2005
I am flying into SDQ on the 19th of January and am renting a car through Adventure Car Rental. My original plan was to just take a taxi from SDQ to Caribe Tours then up to Sosua where I would pick up the car. We are staying all over the North Coast and wanted to avoid driving through SD and Santiago. Is it worth it to just get the car at SDQ and make the drive to the Sosua area?

I speak moderate spanish and my travel buddies are 100% fluent from Mexico. I have traveled to the DR three times but this is my first time driving. Did I mention I am 19? :-/

Let me know what you all think - I'm not worried about the difficulty of driving because I have driven in other developing, "crazy driving" nations, rather getting lost because I believe I remember you have to go through Santo Domingo from SDQ in order to get on the road to the North Coast.

Thanks!

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
We've had a multitude of similar inquiries.
The bottom line is that it's not for the faint of heart, and as that is not the case with you, you only need directions.
Getting through Santo Domingo are the only small snags.
I have an excellent interactive map and you need only PM or email me your email address for me to send it to you.

nlove88

Aug 12, 2005
Rocky, I sent you a private message with my email - I would love the map.

Thanks!!

corsair74

Bronze
Jul 3, 2006
It's not worth it!

Spring of 06', I also had the bright idea of driving from SD to Sosua. I'll just start off by saying that my friend's and I are still talking about that trip.