Helping Others

JustinLee

Jul 12, 2008
Greetings everyone. This is my first time here. My wife and I will be making our first trip to the DR in December. I am a businessman in Oklahoma (U.S.) and enjoy a self-sustained agricultural lifestyle with my wife and 2 kids. What I mean by a self-sustained agricultural lifestyle is I produce my own beef, milk, pork, chicken, eggs and garden.

During our trip to the DR we would love to be a blessing to a family in need. We want to buy this family a milk cow, chickens, goats, pigs or whatever so that they can produce their own food and sale/trade the excess. I know there are many charitable organizations that offer this but I am a hands on person and want to see the animals go to the family with my own eyes.

I would like to do this through a local church. Since I have no connections in the DR, I need some help. Can you give me some contact info. to a local church in an agricultural area where a family would be in need. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Justin

P.S. We will be staying in Punta Cana

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Not going to happen out there. Few farmers. Most, if not all of the land belongs to Central Romana

this is not a good idea unless youcan really and truly identify such a family. Perhaps in places like Ocoa, Guananico, Santiago Rodr?guez, Los Almacigos, where there are some small farmers, this idea might, I say "might" work.

You cannot come inhere and do this sort of thing. Try contacting Caritas, CARE or one of the church organizations and see what they say....Try contacting our farmer out in the area near Cabrera...see what he says.

All I can see happening is that once you turn your back everything is sold off and things get back to normal. Do this very slowly....There is very little of the US-style farmer culture here.

HB

JustinLee

Jul 12, 2008