Quiet beach

K

Kathy Welch

My husband and I will be traveling to Santo Domingo the last week of February in 2001. We are looking for a place to stay that doesn't attract many tourists but has a very quiet nice beach. We want to do alot of sightseeing in between laying on the beach. We don't want to go to an all-inclusive beacause we want to spend alot of time with the natives. I would like information on getting around also. If you know of such a place I would appreciate any and all information you could give me.

A

Andy

If you're looking for quiet beaches, some of the prettiest scenery in the DR and natural attractions, check out the Samana Peninsula.

H

Hillbilly

Take this advice..

Andy is a little self motivated here (with cause, believe me!) but let me say that the Samana Peninsula IS the most beautiful, verdent and lush part of the DR. My wife and I have been visiting there for over 30 years and even with the changes it is beautiful.. Just what you wanted.
Andy's place is neat, next door is Bernard's place and just around the corner is Villa Serena all winners!!
Luck
HB

A

arcoiris

Re: Take this advice..

Samana is very popular now, in part thanks to andy's efforts to create a market via his website. It is great there, but I hope you will also look at all the other great places that there are in the Dominican Republic. You may have to find the information from other people though, and I hope you would buy some good travel books, and I hope some other people will post about some of the other places to go. The natives mostly don't have the internet to tell you about their places, but there are some people, like Roberto and Natasha on this site who can tell you more.

H

Hillbilly

While I love Samana, look at this site

try dominicanluxuryvillas.com

They offer exclusive villas and there is one at Punta Ruc?a that is about as far away from the beaten path as you can get.