Looking for a job abroad.

vjgone

Sep 18, 2009
Hello DR1,

I’ve been checking this site for a while now, I finally decided to register. Quick question, do most of the members here live in Dominican Republic? Or are you guys located in the States? I feel a little rude already posting, I guess its one of the reasons I registered.

I linked my resume & cover letter at the bottom of this letter, I’ve removed my name and e-mail address, if interested you can PM me for my contact information. I’ve tried looking for a job located in DR with what some would say average income here in the States. I know DR pays grunt wages, yet I still believe that there has to be a company originally from the States / Europe or not but that pays. I’m looking into a salary of 22-28 maybe 30kUSD a year after taxes.

I’m 23 and have 6 years of work experience in a large corporation based in the States; I’m also a college graduate working on my paralegal certification. Graduated from Hofstra last year was looking into going to law school in January. After debating for a while I decided to put all of this to a stop. My grandfather was diagnosed with cancer, he’s really the only family I have and I’ve decided to spend the remainder of his life with him in DR.

Anyways, long story short; I’ve applied to a few jobs abroad. JetBlue (If anyone here works for JetBlue here is a link to their crew member recommendation site:

https://bcss.jetblue.com/irj/portal...8d4117ebf8643611c95fba864&ID=MDFORTUxMTk5Mjk3

I’ve also applied to A.C.S. Affiliated Computer Services; they were a little unprofessional over the phone, at least the DR office. Maybe there was a miscommunication but I booked a sit-down and confirmed. A week later I re-called just because I live in the States and the traveling expenses, magically someone (despite my interview) had filled the position internally.