New question regarding childsupport

uptownblk

Mar 4, 2009
Hello all,

I have a question regarding the child support rate of payment. I'm a NY resident but the female resides in DR and I visit once a month for a week or so. If we were to get pregnant I'd take the steps to make the situation as comfortable and drama free as possible (make sure its mine). But being a NY'r I know females are FULL of game, smoke and mirrors. If it came down to me paying child support... What would the rate be? I mean would it be at a DR rate or a NY state rate. She lives and is a DR resident. Could the DR government enforce the child support rate and a NY level?

Thanks

Ramondon

Jul 27, 2009
I am not an attorney but I am talking about my own experience. They pretty much calculate how much it costs to support the child and they divide it since she is responsible for 1/2 and you the other 1/2. In my case it was $10,000 pesos a month they calculated so I was only responsible for $5,000.00 pesos a month but I believed that to be too little so I voluntarily give her $400.00 a month. Child support in the Dominican Republic is much more reasonable than in the States. And no they do not have jurisdiction to come after you in the states and make sure the money goes thru Tribunal de menores that way she can never stop you from leaving the DR if you choose to leave. If they find a sucker they try to take advantage as much as possible. And find a good attorney.

Sep 22, 2009
Hello all,