Why Dominican graduates from universities in the USA return to the DR at the start of their careers?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
These younger looking is Dr Héctor Guerrero Heredia, a psychiatrist that graduated from Yale University (New Haven, CT) and at the Graduate Hospital (Philadelphia, PA) and Dr Jorge Marte is a doctor with a specialty in pulmonary medicine and the chairman if CEDIMAT.

They both were offered very nice positions in which their incomes was going to be many hundreds of thousands of dollars a year to stay in the USA, but instead decided to return to the DR. This is despite they both were aware returning to the DR meant a big pay cut.

Dr Guerrero Heredia was asked what he wanted to do, stay in the USA with a position offered to him with a yearly income of about US$300,000 (this was in the 1990’s) or return to the DR, he said he will return and the response was that he was crazy. lol Others told him he should return and practice psychiatry in his country in his mother tongue because speaking English was going to limit him.

Dr Jorge Marte rejected staying in the USA with a compensation of half a million dollars a year to return to the DR.

They agree one of the reasons they returned and don’t plan to leave the DR is because of patriotism. Dr Guerrero Heredia even says “because we’re Dominicans.” None ever express ingratitude towards the USA or that they don’t think is a great country or anything of the sort. They simply choose a third world country because it’s their country with warts and all. They both also agree that despite they know they would had been in a better economic position if they would had stayed in the USA and that the doors to go back to the USA aren’t shut, they don’t regret moving back to the DR. This is despite Dr Jorge Marte complained that his time at the Salvador Gautier Hospital in SD was a waste. The regret is with the hospital, but no regret with the DR.