Recommended Dominican History Book/Documentary

Alltimegreat

Nov 16, 2012
I'm looking for an unbiased and relatively in-depth book/documentary on Dominican history that is written in English by an English native speaker. The ones I've come across so far have either been poorly written/produced or downplay/omit the dictatorships resulting from Haitian and US invasions and occupations, instead focusing excessively on how Haitians fared under Trujillo.

Reactions: aarhus

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
There is a law that prohibits referring to Trujillo in a positive light only whether it’s written or spoken. For this reason you will notice that in books, interviews/TV shows they either keep a negative tone on Trujillo or if they say something positive it’s quickly followed by something negative. Many time they also include something making it clear they don’t support dictatorship, repudiate Trujillo, etc. It isn’t always clear if the person is being sincere or not because that is a law that is enforced. Also, the book published by Angelita Trujillo a few years ago is banned and that was quickly placed within days the book cameout and became the bestseller. lol Don’t think of taking the book to the DR since it can be bought abroad, but at the airport aduana will confiscate it and they can even arrest the passenger (I know of a case of a Dominican from New Jersey that took a copy and was arrested in the DR simply for that.) So, don’t expected a balanced view about anything that has to do with Trujillo in the DR.

There is a movement being created that wants that law to be eliminated since by this time it’s more than twice as long thsn what lasted the Trujillo dictatorship and a law like that actually makes sense in the immediate years after it ended. But don’t expect that to get anywhere any time soon.