It's so lovely and quiet in Santo Domingo

MariaRubia

Jun 25, 2019
For the first time that I've seen, they were at the airport peaje around 430 this afternoon. They had ticket books in hand. My guess is they were checking for marbetes because I didn't have a seat belt on and they ignored me. Also, they did not f up traffic, which is greatly appreaciated. I think they reserve that for the imeciles who can't read/understand Spanish and get in the wrong lane.

I've passed through a couple of times in the last two weeks and they were there both times. They were on the Malecon near to Lincoln this afternoon stopping cars, and yesterday they were on Independencia stopping motorbikes.

Reactions: NanSanPedro

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Gosh, where was that? I'm guessing on the highway from Barahona to Azua. There must have been an accident or something to block the traffic that badly.
IMG_9920.jpeg

IMG_9921.jpeg

IMG_9922.jpeg

They still had quite a way to SD. The South needs the road to be a divided highway all the way to San Juan and Barahona, IMO. It doesn’t seem that will be the case anytime soon. Simply looking at the beltway the government built around Azua and is building around Bani, these are tight roads (one lane in each direction.)

The following video is of aerial look at the Azua Beltway. It should had been 4 lanes in total + the shoulder lanes for emergencies. They are going to have to spend more money in the future to widen that unless they plan to eliminate the shoulder lanes and somehow accommodate 4 lanes even if shortening the width of each lane. It’s the DR, anything can be expected.

DR government money grows on trees, don’t forget that. It doesn’t comes from the people, of course not. :censored:

[youtube]Zf-Fb25n2oc[/youtube]