Is there such an animal?

Golfer

Apr 7, 2002
Looking to locate in the DR to escape the US winters for about 5 months out of the year. I've been traveling to the DR for about 6 years and absolutely love the place. I've driven all over the island and the one thing I can't find is a beach house! The North Coast has "communities" near beaches (Costambar, Sousa, Cabarete, Sea Hourse Ranch) but nothing on the beach. Plus the North Coast is not to appealing for beaches in winter because it averages about 5 degeees cooler than the South. The Punta Cana/Bavaro area is warm and beautiful but the all-inclusives have gobbled up all the beaches. Santo Domingo has no beaches and west of SD twoards San Cristobal is no mans land. La Romana has Casa de Campo but most of the houses on the beach are on bluffs and that area is a little to pricey for me. I checked out San Pedro but there was not a tourist to be found much less a beach house. Boca Chica I have not checked out because of the sleeze factor but if there were a place nearby I would consider.
By process of elimination I have focused on Juan Dolio. Close to Metro Golf Course, 45 minutes fron SD for nightlife and shopping and it looks like they have great beaches that actually have beach houses. Can anyone on this board suggest a good real estate broker for the Juan Dolio area or better yet know of a beach house?
The East and West Coast of the US have literally hundreds of thousands of beach homes. Am I overlooking a part of the DR I should be considering? Samana has no golf. Luperon has no shopping. If anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them. Thanks, Golfer

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
Why don't you come on down and rent in Juan Dolio before making up your mind. Mail rmallen@codetel.net.do or r.mallen@codetel.net.do (not sure if with the dot or without).