The Taxes and those annoying street vendors!!!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Ok, first things first.

DR1 has been lately, hmm how can I say this in a manner that is not too blunt, shall we say dead?

The debates section is dead. The living section is so so. The business section would be bankrupt by now in a real business. The environmental section has never been too exciting, but even on its own standard is so and so.

DR1 is in the duldrums. For this reason I think its time for a little crancking of the stove and stirring the pot a little.

What better subject than those annoying (let's face it, they are annoying) street vendor and taxes (which are even more annoying than the first one!)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is a tremendous problem in this country and this problem is not just limited to this country alone. The problem is called "the informal economy".

What is the informal economy? Any company, individual, etc who conducts a form of business beyond the radar of the authorities. These businesses don't pay taxes, are extremely inefficient, and penalize the more productive firms at the expense of consumer, national well being, and the general productivity of the country.

What happens when a peso is goes to a street vendor as oppose to a legitimate business? Well, keep reading...

That peso suddenly is not taxed! What does this means?

This means that if the government was to maintain tax levels constant (ie. not raise or decrease them), each year the government would be receive less and less tax revenue.

Why is this the case?

Because more and more people are diverting more and more pesos to illegitimate businesses that are not getting taxed.

How does the government makes up the difference?

There is only one way, increasing the tax rates in order to keep the same revenue stream.

Who gets penalized with each tax increase?