Boca Chica is getting improved

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
According to a declaration by David Collado, Minister of Tourism, Boca Chica will get improvements. Anything that is done to improve BC is a must asap. From what he said, this will be done before the end of his rule as Minister of Tourism and it encompasses improvements to the beach (I guess moving much of the sand that once was at the beach and now is in the sea due to coastal erosion though I think the beach hasn't been touched since Trujillo except the part immediately next to the Hamaca) and the environs of the beach (I hope this includes calle Duarte which looks horrible that should be pedestrians only at least from the park to Hotel Hamaca and redesigned similar to the new ones in the Colonial Zone.)

Jaa3cTF.jpg

Hoy; Jan 20, 2024.

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
They dredged sand to the beach many years ago, but it didn't last. Some say it was because of the jetty the Hamaca constructed.

If they don't do anything with the cut throat restaurants there won't be much of an improvement of guests.

Reactions: CristoRey

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
Does the beach bar Isla Bonita still exist. In 2005 -6 it was right at the water.

JD Jones

Jan 7, 2016
Does anybody remember the bar that Peter from England ran that belonged to a European guy? The bar tender was Flaco.

banzai

Aug 16, 2013
Does the beach bar Isla Bonita still exist. In 2005 -6 it was right at the water.
it's still there. As I understand it, ran by more-or-less a squater? I believe the actual owner (if there is/was one passed
and the property now in limbo). The building is mostly empty. I think a few apartments occupied. Decent spot to have
a cold one; don't run a tab!

Reactions: JD Jones

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
it's still there. As I understand it, ran by more-or-less a squater? I believe the actual owner (if there is/was one passed