César Iglesias, First IPO of the Dominican Republic

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
César Iglesias, the largest manufacturer in San Pedro de Macorís and founded by natives of San Pedro de Macorís, will become the first IPO of the Dominican Republic in the Dominican Stock Exchange. This means for the first time in history, everyday Dominicans have a chance to buy stocks from this company. Chances are the value of these stocks will increase through the years, making this an interesting investment even for expats. You don't have to be rich to buy stocks!

This is also exciting because this is a Dominican manufacturing company based on primarily Dominican consumption, not exports. This is all DR from beginning to end. Mostly Dominican founders, managers, employees, products for Dominican consumption, etc.

IMG_3902.jpeg

IMG_3886.jpeg

IMG_3896.jpeg

IMG_3891.jpeg

IMG_3889.jpeg

IMG_3890.jpeg

IMG_3898.jpeg

IMG_3897.jpeg

Last edited:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
All videos are in Spanish.

The Company

The Market

The Numbers

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Some of the findings in the video are,,,

- Colmados are not where 70% of consumption takes place, it's down to about 40%. This is expected as the economic growth effects reaches all levels of society with a drop in poverty levels.

- Before the security crisis in Haiti, 40% of everything consumed there was made in Dominican factories. After the start of the security crisis, now is well over 50%. Basically, thanks to "Barbecue et al" now Haitians on the entire island are mostly depending on the Dominican upper class and business owners for their survival. Despite the increase, most consumption is done in the DR. Despite culturally Haiti is very different from the DR,
economically now is like a Dominican barrio given its dependence on Dominicans but even with the increase their effects are still relatively small of all the products made in the DR.