Dominican Government Guarantee Rights To Airlines Passengers

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
There is a right given to all passengers of an airline (Dominican or otherwise) from their flights to and from the DR.

Airlines are suppose to give the following credits to each passenger affected (but it has to be first requested by the passenger(s) in any Dominican airport and if the airline refuses, then go to the nearest JAC office (Junta de Aviación Civil; every international airport in the DR has one) and report it.) They will force the airline to comply as this isn't a request, but an obligation.

The JAC recently got to together with representstives of Jetblue given the rash of criticisms by many Dominicans regarding them not complying with this, even though it isn't something of their discretion in the DR, they must comply. Again, this applies to flights originating in the DR and flights originating abroad to the DR.

If a flight to or from the DR suffers a delay, the airline (regardless if it's Dominican or not) must comply with the following.

All credits are per passengers.

Cancellation
4 hours before the scheduled flight time: US$50 credit
After the scheduled flight time: US$100 credit

Delay Before Boarding
3:00 - 3:59 hours: US$50 credit
4:00 - 4:59 hours: US$100 credit
5:00 - 5:59 hours: US$150 credit
6:00 - more hours: US$200 credit

Delay After Boarding
3:00 - 4:59 hours: US$100
5:00 - 5:59 hours: US$175
6:00 - more hours: US$250

Delay on Land, On Board (after landing)
1:00 - 1:59 hours: US$50 credit
2:00 - 2:59 hours: US$125 credit
3:00 - more: US$200 credit

PS. It appears there is no clause to excempt the airline in case the delay and/or cancellation is due to the weather (say a snow storm in NYC which affects all flights to and from the DR.)

Last edited:

johne

Silver
Jun 28, 2003
There is a right given to all passengers of an airline (Dominican or otherwise) from their flights to and from the DR.