Profile of Haiti's "Barbecue"

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Well, ever since I first saw him (always in photos) and having read many descriptions of how Jean Jacques Dessalines looked (by people that actually met him, needless to say some of the statues and busts of him in Haiti makes him appear as some sort of a handsome man, but every first hand description make mention of his ugliness to the point it would impact people and intimidate others in his presence.) I always thought they both look very similar.

Who knows, Barbecue might even be related to Dessalines since he impregnated Haitian women up and down Haiti. It’s said Dessalines literally had a girlfriend in every town, e-v-e-r-y town. He had status, access to great weslth and was known to be brave. It’s well known for many women those qualities trumps ugliness and despite he had an explosive personality falling into rage for the slightest thing. Those qualities actually make some women see them as handsome, even if after they fall out of love they wonder how they ever thought that. Lol

That last part reminded me of what Hipólito Mejía once said. He was a close friend of Peña Gómez and most people agreed handsome he was not, yet Hipólito mention that there were countless times when young and very beautiful women would literally throw themselves at him, even sit on his laps and mentioned they thought he was handsome.

Listen to this woman speaking of Johnny Ventura. I think most people agree he was quite a singer and had much talent when it came to dance moves, but to say he was handsome is pushing it a little. Yet…

17:55

Given that, it wouldn’t surprise me if Barbecue has a bunch of Haitian woman falling for him. He could very well have no need for prostitutes (unlike some no -Spanish speaking people roaming around Sosúa.) Just saying…

• Haha
Reactions: JD Jones

XQT

Dec 7, 2022
Puerto Plata
Jimmy is a problem which quickly could be taken care off by professionals.