Santiago Disney park ??

Tallman1818

Nov 19, 2007
I was talking with a body of mine in Bavaro beach over the Semana Santa holiday and he mention the fact, that a group of German business men back during the Hipolito Mejia goverment wanted to buy a large piece of land and built a Disney park here in DR, to bring all those families that have the money to afford such place but can not get US visas to visit the park in Florida or California.
Now I ask you what about if these idea was to became a reality in during the next goverment of Leonel Fernandez and was built in Santiago, a city with an internation airport looking to be expand, a major hotel coming soon (Gran Cibao), but very little turism attracion and not a lot of jobs for the poorest of its citizen.
Would this idea work in the caribe area The Dominican Republic (Santiago) or would it be another Europe Disney mess.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
That's an interesting idea.

I guess it could work if:

1) There is enough demand.

2) The packages are combined with beach resort/mountain resort escapes. (ie. The person starts their vacation at the amusement park, spends a few days there and discovering Santiago and then they are off to Puerto Plata/Sos?a, Juan Dolio, or B?varo-Punta Cana for some sun, sand, and surf or to Jarabacoa or Constanza for some nature/mountain/hiking, etc.

It could work, but, of course, market research is needed to know if there is a demand, what the initial and operating costs might be, have an idea of the type of profit margins possible, etc.

-NALs

SantiagoDR

The "REAL" SantiagoDR
Jan 12, 2006