Getting married to a Dominican Citizen

VladFridlyand

Jun 26, 2019
Boca Chica, DR
flamingomoments.com
I am trying to marry a Dominican Citizen. So far the ring is accepted and find out the cost of filing which is 10000 pesos.
As i foreigner I need translated and apostilled copies of documents such as Birth Certificate, Divorce Papers etc. Can any one point me in the right direction where that can be done and what would be the cost to prepare those documents.

malko

Campesino !! :)
Jan 12, 2013
All depends where you are from.
My birth certificate came in 5 languages so no translation needed. The apostille is also done in your home country.

As for translating stuff here, it will be cheap-ish.

Reactions: VladFridlyand

DR_Guy

Bronze
Feb 17, 2010
If you live in a small town and know the judge that does weddings the paperwork is considerably less. Almost no paperwork if you do the wedding at a resort and invite her perform (expenses paid of course). jajaj

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
You have to be careful with weddings at resorts. I remember reading about same sex weddings taking place in Bavaro leaving me perplexed. Last I checked, same sex weddings are illegal in the DR and not recognized by the Dominican government (and for a very long time the only religious weddings recognized by the government were Catholic ones). Sham on a beautiful beach? Could be. Oh well, at least somebody is making money in the process.

canuck1

Jun 22, 2009
I have been married for 16 years. I can not remember everything it was along time ago but i just got my Canadian papers translated and i thick i paid 3 or 4 k pesos . But i am sure it is a lot more now.

zoomzx11

Gold
Jan 21, 2006
I have been married for 16 years. I can not remember everything it was along time ago but i just got my Canadian papers translated and i thick i paid 3 or 4 k pesos . But i am sure it is a lot more now.
Congrats on 16 year marriage.