What does a citizen of Haiti need to be "legal" in the DR

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
In DR I believe it’s often a substitute for “I”. When I work with vital records, spellings switch back and forth between documents. Ysabel/Isabel, Ysidro/Isidro, Ynes/Ines, etc.
Or substitute for J; Yennifer and Yanet for instance.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
In DR I believe it’s often a substitute for “I”. When I work with vital records, spellings switch back and forth between documents. Ysabel/Isabel, Ysidro/Isidro, Ynes/Ines, etc.
Yep and this probably goes way back since before the DR was the DR (and even Haiti - this is the Haiti forum afterall.) Everyone should know that when Puerto Plata was founded it was under the rule of King Ferninand and Queen Isabela. Several Dominican cities were the first to get a coat of arms in 1508 of all the cities in the Americas. Even the island got a coat of arms before any other place this side of the world. The thing about Puerto Plata is that the coat if arms is on the facade of City Hall in the center of town (not to mention the city's flag is nothing more than the coat of arms on a white background.) The coat of arms is the original with no modifications.

Notice something?

62872E53-27F0-451C-8333-7C6983FB35C6.jpeg

Last edited:
Reactions: cavok and AlterEgo

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
Yohanna, Yanibel, Yaritza, Yarlin ,Yaniri, Yisenia, Yosmairy, Yokari, Yakaira, Yerling, Yerolyn...etc, and of course my wife YRIS.
Yenigaurencia is the one I put through medical school. Gaudy for short. I often wonder how she is doing.

Reactions: bob saunders

Manuel01

Apr 1, 2009
My gardenter is Haitian every 30 days he goes back to get 30 day visa work stamped and even though he is not Dominican and has no cedula 2 yrs ago got a Dominican driver’s license legal…