Is everyone who visits DR Cheap???

liam1

Bronze
Jun 9, 2004
And after the day spent strolling thru Zona Colonial, where do you think Vin Disel goes to sleep? Back to Casa De Campo where about 500 security guards ISULATE him from the poverty.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
And after the day spent strolling thru Zona Colonial, where do you think Vin Disel goes to sleep? Back to Casa De Campo where about 500 security guards ISULATE him from the poverty.
But he's still in the DR and he still leaves and knows about the poverty and continues to live in the DR.

True insulation is staying first world countries to not run the "risk" of seeing anything, not moving to a developing country and having charities, and going into its large cities, etc.

The point is that more and more of the world's rich are visiting the DR which completely negates the comment Onion/Carrots made.

He and Julio Iglesias, and the Fuentes family and a long list of other upper crust people could had easily decided to stay in Miami where they used to live before "discovering" the DR and deciding to move to the DR for good. But, no, the poverty was not a deterrent. Much in the same way the poverty is not a deterrent to less wealthy Americans. Afterall, there is a reason Myrtle Beach is a such a popular vacation spot and it has little to do with glamour. They can spend cheap vacations within the DR and not see poverty, but that's not deterring them.

Face it, the DR is the new "it" place among the upper crust (or anyone) and is still becoming much more popular, poverty or not!

-NALs

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Yes, i guess Casa De Campo is DR, isn't it? :tired: