Presidente Beer

Status
Not open for further replies.

runmemphis

Nov 13, 2009
I'm a rookie traveller to the DR and looking forward to my upcoming trip. The Presidente Beer?? Is it light, dark, smotth, bitter, similar to a U.S. Beer names _______??? or a Mexican brewery??? Just excited and curious if I can stomach it or go with the local rum!! Thanks in advance!

westcan

Sep 10, 2008
It's good when it is ice cold. Kind of a pilsner I guess. After a while I find I get tired of the taste though...maybe too sweet or something, I am not sure. That's the stuff in the bottle. At some of the all-inclusives it comes from a keg. Don't like that, it's never cold enough.

Mar 2, 2008
Presidente is a light pilsener, which is very good cold, but iffy when warm, in my opinion.

There are several locally brewed beers in the DR, each with its own character and fans.

Personally, I like all of them when they are served cold. Actually, the only beers I don't care for are the warm flat morning-after ones, but I'll even drink them on occasion.

runmemphis

Nov 13, 2009
Sounds like I will not have any problems! I'm not a beer snob, just don't care for dark, thick, strong tasting beers AND always tastes better when ICE cold!!

Last edited:

pedrochemical

Silver
Aug 22, 2008
Be warned - If it warms up enough to taste it then it is yucky.
Always drink it EXTREMELY COLD!

It varies in alcohol content from case to case.
I do not know if this is a myth, but it feels like it.

TOOBER_SDQ

Bronze
Nov 19, 2008
Unfortunately, in recent years, ?Presidente Light?, pronounced ?Presidente Lie? has become increasingly popular. I think its swill.

Due to its popularity, some places only carry ?Presidente Lie?.

If you want original Presidente, be sure to ask for ?Presidente Normal?, pronounced ?Presidente Norma?.