Semana Santa Info

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The most important info are the three phone numbers (includes one for vehicle assistance which is offered for free -flat tire, run out of gas, etc- in the major highways of the DR.)
Jj2ggln.jpg

Tips of how to be safe on the road that nobody follows.
Jj2gUKX.jpg

As it says there, don’t drink and drive :ROFLMAO: , wear a helmet when riding a motorcycle :ROFLMAO:, wear your seatbelts :ROFLMAO:, go slow and follow speed limits :ROFLMAO:… alright, let me stop. But it says that and more.

NanSanPedro

Nickel with tin plating
Apr 12, 2019
Boca Chica
yeshaiticanprogram.com
I was down at the Boca Chica beach for a walk around 130 pm. Tons of security and parking hawkers. It looked busy but there were still literally hundreds of unoccupied tables and chairs. I will go back on Friday, should be interesting to compare.

keepcoming

Moderator - Living & General Stuff
May 25, 2011
Semana Santa is a very huge holiday in the DR. Right up there with Christmas holidays.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Semana Santa is big in just about every Spanish-speaking country with a strong Catholic tradition. I used to think maybe Uruguay was different given the high level of atheism/agnosticism there and that they have a very secular government. A few years ago I looked into that and it turns out Uruguay simply renamed Semana Santa to something else which I can’t remember right now. It’s basically a huge holiday over there too, just don’t call it Semana Santa. lol