advice needed please

gert51

Dec 27, 2004
husband went snorkeling in sosua bay yesterday, this morning was a little sick ,did not want to eat all day, about 1 hr ago had a slice of toast and within less than 5 mins brought it all back going to pharmacy tomorrow morning ,what to ask for please.staying in apartments in sosua,making him drink water thank you inadvance

southern

I love Hillary!
Dec 13, 2016
Sounds like norovirus, 24 to 30 hrs he should be much better, mucho liquids, Advil. Not better in 2 days go to Doctor. Snorkeling was not the culprit.

gert51

Dec 27, 2004
ok thank you will go to pharmacy in morning for some , we ar due to fly home to uk on sunday

Cdn_Gringo

Gold
Apr 29, 2014
I don't know anything about your husband's medical history or any sensitivities to antibiotics. I'm not a doctor. I'd suspect a bacteria cause but who know what's in the water in Sosua bay besides fecal chloroform. 

I'd recommend he see a doctor. Some tests can ensure an accurate diagnosis and appropriate treatment. If you just want to roll the dice, you could try:

1) Norfloxacin 400 mg twice daily for 4 days - Avoid prolonged exposure to direct sun while taking this medication. Avoid taking antacids or other products that contain calcium, iron or zinc less than 2 hours before or less than 2 hours after taking this medication. 

2) Ciprofloxacin 500 mg twice daily for 4 days - Medication should be taken with plenty of water. Avoid prolonged exposure to direct sun while taking this medication.

If significant improvement doesn't occur in 2 days, see a doctor. 

Good luck.

lifeisgreat

Enjoying Life
May 7, 2016
Sounds like what my kids and wife get once yr quick poop test at cmc will tell within 2 hrs...if you eat out at restaurants a lot eventually you will get bit by unclean cooking situation.. and from all flooding lately Sousa bay is not the best to be in first week :(
All best good luck 

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006