Air Century

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Reactions: AlaPlaya and cavok

El Hijo de Manolo

It's outrageous, egregious, preposterous!
Dec 10, 2021
Dominican Republic
Air Century is another Dominican airline that is going through an expansion fase, this time from Punta Cana International Airport.

The first fase includes the following destinations:

Miami
San Juan
Cartagena
Havana
Valencia (Venezuela)
Aruba
Curaçao
St. Martin

The airline was founded in 1992.
Just what the world needs, another discount airline where they don't generate enough income for new planes and proper maintenance. No thanks.

MariaRubia

Jun 25, 2019
They have been around for years, in fairness. I used to fly from Punta Cana to the capital on their flights, before they built the highway. Rickety old planes, you did think you were about to die but somehow they landed.

Reactions: JD Jones

MariaRubia

Jun 25, 2019
Arajet is also the reincarnation of an older airline (Dominican Wings?) isn't it. Pacheco has been around for quite a while and he teamed up with the guys who ran Wizz air. Neither of them are new on the block.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
They have been around for years, in fairness. I used to fly from Punta Cana to the capital on their flights, before they built the highway. Rickety old planes, you did think you were about to die but somehow they landed.
I don't think an Air Century airplane has ever had an accident on air or on the ground. Air Century has a good record from what I know. With the current expansion and the intention to acquire new larger airplanes to fly to the USA, this could be the beginning of a new Air Century. Could be added domestic competition for Sky High and maybe even Arajet on some routes.

aarhus

www.johnboyter.com
Jun 10, 2008
It will be interesting to see how it goes with all these DR airlines. Hopefully they are safe.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003