British Chamber of Commerce Caribbean music awards gala


Staff member
Feb 20, 2019
The British Chamber of Commerce in the Dominican Republic (BritchamDR) announced the winners of the Young Musician of the Caribbean Awards (YMoCA) during its annual gala held on Monday, 1 April 2024 at the National Theater. The winners are Dominican Hector Almanzar, in the Junior clarinet category; Dominican Enmanuel Galvez, in the senior piano category; and Puerto Rican Gabriel Cruz, in the Young Professionals flute category.

The BritchamDR Young Musician of the Caribbean Award is a regional competition for classical instrumentalists between the ages of 12 and 26 from the Caribbean islands and brings together a prestigious panel of British judges.

Nine musicians from Cuba, Haiti, Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic competed in the finals of the regional music contest.

The winners of the Caribbean Award were chosen by the prestigious British musicians David Watkin, Iwan LLewelyn-Jones and Katy Ayling.


Continue reading...