DR & COVID

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Apparently, the DR (and Jamaica) had one of the best (lowest) mortality rate during the Covid pandemic. Puerto Rico and the French Guyana had the absolute best for the hemisphere.

Haiti, Nicaragua, Peru, Bolivia, parts of Mexico and one state in Brazil had the worst in the hemisphere.

IMG_1911.jpeg

IMG_1912.jpeg

Remember the guy (was he a priest?) that had quite a gathering in Puerto Plata during the COVID pandemic and made the news because of that? :unsure:

CristoRey

Welcome To Wonderland
Apr 1, 2014
Someone should create and share a map (by country) of how many people were shot dead
by the police across Latin America for violating the curfews that were put in place during Covid.

Reactions: rover and Manuel01

chico bill

Dogs Better than People
May 6, 2016
Is anyone still worried about covid?
Those on Medicare who go into hospitals or recovery facilities in the US should be, where the hospitals still get 20% premium in Medicare billing if the "admit Covid infected patients".
This has happened to a friend of mine with a heart condition, which he believes were caused by his 3 Covid vaccinations. Each time he goes for heart related issues they admit him as a Covid patient.

Why should a patient care? Because then they force Paxlovid treatment on you which can have severe damaging effects on kidneys and liver, especially for elderly patients, which of course are those on Medicare. This happened to my sister as well. And apparently Covid rebound is more likely after taking Paxlovid.
Pfizer makes Paxlovid. They made $13 billion last year on this drug and charge $530 just for supplying the Paxlovid pills for each patient's 5-day treatment (15 tablets ) under a government contract. Those at less risk (stronger kidneys) are given double dosing. (30 pills)
I have not heard of Paxlovid being used in DR, but would not be surprised to find Pfizer pushing it here as well.

chico bill

Dogs Better than People