I am well aware of the rulebook....
remember , there is no penalty for playing out of turn...
My friend who started this question, Tom Paul, has taken it to the Head of the USGA Rules Committee who has refused to state what you state.
As I said, after years of discussion no definitive answer.
A grey area, so to speak.
Another of golf's little curiosities......
Are you serious, or know the first thing about golf at all? YOU WILL NEVER SEE ANYONE IN ANY USGA TOURNAMENT NOT ADHERE TO THE RULES QUOTED IN MY POST.
Now I figured out how you have 12,736 posts. No need to know anything, just post your thoughts.