JCE final numbers on the presidential election


Staff member
Feb 20, 2019

The Central Electoral Board (JCE) issued on 20 May 2024 the final numbers for the Presidential election in the Dominican Republic that took place on Sunday, 19 May. The JCE had issued a first preliminary bulletin shortly before 8:30pm on Sunday, as promised.

President Luis Abinader won with the vote of 2,499,774 Dominicans, or 57.46% of the vote. Next was former three-term President Leonel Fernandez with 1,254,761 voters or 28.84%. Former Santiago mayor Abel Martinez of the Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) was third with 451,955 voters, or 10.39%.

The other presidential candidates did not reach majority party status and are:Roque Espaillat (El Cobrador) with 59,067 voters (1.36%)Carlos Peña with 31,452 voters or 0.72%Virginia Antares Rodriguez of Opción Democratica with 25,088 voters or 0.58%Miguel Vargas of the Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD) with 19,654...

Continue reading...
Last edited by a moderator: