Marriage in the Dominican Republic

sammystorm19

Apr 8, 2007
Hi Everyone, I have a question and I have been trying to find the answer on here but no luck. Might be that it is monday and I am still on weekend time...but anyways, here it is.

I have a friend, who lives here in Canada, that wants to marry a Dominican down in the DR. Her divorce will be final in May of 2009 and wants to get married the same month down in the Dominican. I have been telling her that he divorce needs to be final for 9 months before she can get married down there. She seems to think that I just don't want her to get married. Long story and really I don't want her too ( enter SKANY RESORT worker here)!

I have worked in travel for many years and we has a customer service issue last year where someone from Canada wanted to get married in the DR but her divorce wasn't finalized for the 9 months so she couldn't.

Does anyone know if this is still the case? For some reason I just can't seem to find the information today.

Thanks
Erin

sammystorm19

Apr 8, 2007
Ok I finally found the information.

It is a 10 month waiting period unless you are marrying the same person you divorced.

Now I am going to have to break the news to her that it is 10 months not 9.

Maybe this will give her some time to really think about what she is doing.

Cheers
Erin

MikeFisher

The Fisherman/Weather Mod
Feb 28, 2006
Punta Cana/DR
www.mikefisher.fun

It is a 10 month waiting period unless you are marrying the same person you divorced.

Cheers
Erin

Erin,
your friend wanna marry the same Sankie again???
my understanding of the OP been that she just wanna marry a sankie who will get his divorce from the prior chick finished in may 2009, nothing out of the ordinary here, but does she really wanna marry the same one again??
heck, live is too short to spend it on the same **** again and again, talk her at l;east into a marriage with an other sankie, not the same one, bring some variety in your live Gals.
o.k.,