More than 500,000 Haitians have voluntarily left the DR

josh2203

Bronze
Dec 5, 2013
One or two voluntarily, the rest not.
Once around 6am on a weekday, passing through Santiago, we witnessed migracion collecting Haitians from the street with one of those yellow schoolbuses. It was a horrible scene. To be honest, it was the Haitians who looked much more friendly than the migracion officials chasing them... The bus driven by migracion officer also drove like a maniac and among the Haitians who were obviously running by foot, I had to use the horn quite a bit there (for the schoolbus, not the Haitans)...I know they might be in the country illegally, but I did feel bad for them...

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Once around 6am on a weekday, passing through Santiago, we witnessed migracion collecting Haitians from the street with one of those yellow schoolbuses. It was a horrible scene. To be honest, it was the Haitians who looked much more friendly than the migracion officials chasing them... The bus driven by migracion officer also drove like a maniac and among the Haitians who were obviously running by foot, I had to use the horn quite a bit there (for the schoolbus, not the Haitans)...I know they might be in the country illegally, but I did feel bad for them...
Keep in mind that most migration officers that take part in deportation round ups have been doing that for a long time.