Nasty Stuff Everywhere

ljmesg

Aug 6, 2017
Islands of nastiness floating in on the North Coast. This is off Cabrera. Have been seeing this for days. Where is it all ending up?
4da673bc5ca406532a8a556c674fbbb7.jpg

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Its probably batches of the sargazo seaweed invasion.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
yup, the seaweed

I guess you missed the earthquake the other morning ...2.6 miles south of Cabrera

See Buster Gringo's earthquake thread

westcan

Sep 10, 2008
A few bars that have the right formula are still doing OK on Cabarete beach, but it is the same story of Punta Cana getting all the promotion and cheap flight deals, the high airfares and horrible connections to POP , lack of hotel rooms on the north coast, etc that have the north coast far behind in tourism from a fairly short itime ago. It was a good idea to cash out on the beach in Cabarete and now the place has boomeranged back so it can be done again, but not sure why opening yet another bar in Sosua is happening.

Only Big Franks can say why he still wants to be in business on the north coast, but perhaps not in Cabarete.

I was reading yesterday about the problems with the Sargassum (Sargossa?) seaweed on Punta Cana beaches, where sometimes you cannot go in the ocean there is so much of it. No seaweed on the north coast - but nobody mentions that.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
I was reading yesterday about the problems with the Sargassum (Sargossa?) seaweed on Punta Cana beaches, where sometimes you cannot go in the ocean there is so much of it. No seaweed on the north coast - but nobody mentions that.

Not "no" seaweed - but less as I understand it....on the north coast

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
This sounds lovely:

10. Re: How bad is the seaweed, sargassum, algae in Punta Cana?
Jun 29, 2018, 11:06 AM