Promerica: First Bank in DR to Issue Stocks

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Now that César Iglesias was the first Dominican company to issue stocks in the Dominican Republic Stock Exchange, Promerica will become the second company to issue stocks in the Dominican Republic Stock Exchange and the first from the Dominican financial system.

J9N4V3J.jpg

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Correction: This will be preferred stocks, first of its type in the BVRD.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Econ Carlos Julio Camilo is the President of Promerica Dominican Republic to speak about the company and the IPO in Pesos Pesados.
Promerica will be the first bank IPO in the BVRD (Dominican Republic Stock Exchange).

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It should be noted and even I didn't know this until the interview in the previous post, Promerica is actually a Nicaraguan bank. I thought it was from some other country (never in a million years would Nicaragua makes it to that radar), an original Dominican invention or a subsidiary of a US bank or something like PriceSmart which has no presence in the US but the founders and most or all of the top people are Americans.

While there isn't much in the DR from Nicaragua, usually it isn't a company or brand marketed to consumers such as a bank. For example, not many people know that the main owner of the Acrópolis highrise and mall in SD is Nicaraguan (a woman too, a further rarity among big investors), the same with the holder of the TGI Friday franchise in the DR. Like that there are a few more things that exist in the DR, but it's somewhat hidden that the owner(s) are Nicaraguan.

It turns out that Promerica is called Banpro in Nicaragua, it was founded in 1991 (another shocker to me, very young bank) and is the largest private bank in Nicaragua.

Promerica has been in the DR since the year 2000. They became a commercial bank in the DR in 2013.
JJmQFcu.jpg