Santo Domingo Motors open its largest dealership outside GSD in Santiago

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This week Santo Domingo Motors open its largest dealership outside Santo Domingo in Santiago. They are on autopista Duarte close to K-Ramelo residenctial towers but on the other side of the highway. Santiago now has a dealership from the main importer/representative of Cadillac, Chevrolet, Infiniti, Nissan and Suzuki in the DR.

IMG_3754.jpeg

IMG_3751.jpeg

IMG_3755.jpeg

IMG_3752.jpeg

IMG_3753.jpeg

Reactions: JD Jones

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
and where they get money? money laundering?
SDM has been for a long time one of the wealthiest new cars dealerships companies in the country and they basically get a cut of every new Cadillac, Chevrolet, Infiniti, Nissan (and maybe a few others) sold in the DR by them and any of their competitors as they are the only ones allowed to import those vehicles straight from the factory in the DR (not so used ones). Plus, they also have a presence in other nearby markets (Puerto Rico and others). Money is not an issue for them at this point.

This isn't their first presence in Santiago. They had a smaller dealership closer to the center of the city which was open a few years ago. That was more of a testing experiment for SDM to see if Santiago and vicinity has the demand for SDM and if it surpasses for a very small dealership. Well, I think that question has been answered.

For the longest time, SDM had no direct dealerships outside SD though they have always been the exclusive importers of certain car brands such as Chevrolet in the DR (new ones only). To put it another way, every Chevrolet seen in the DR, if it started its "life" in the DR then at one point at the very least was a benefit to SDM.

Last edited:

bachata

Aprendiz de todo profesional de nada
Aug 18, 2007
I see a lot of Chinese vehicles in Santiago, they sell half the price American and Japanese cars.

They have pretty design!

JJ