The Accents of DR

XQT

Dec 7, 2022
Puerto Plata
The average Dominican is poorly educated.
Poor reading, writing and enunciation, beyond what an accent is.

Sort of like garbled wrapping, apparently "sounding cool" in their imagination.

On the converse, listen to the great Spanish being spoken by some Dominican politicians.

An accent is cultural heritage in all countries.
Many examples of regional accents in every EU country for example, or the evolution of Spanish in Latin America.

Yet the language spoken should be intelligible by all those who speak it.
No pride in butchering a language.
Or speaking too fast, not separating words.

Education is power!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The average Dominican is poorly educated.
Poor reading, writing and enunciation, beyond what an accent is.

Sort of like garbled wrapping, apparently "sounding cool" in their imagination.

On the converse, listen to the great Spanish being spoken by some Dominican politicians.

An accent is cultural heritage in all countries.
Many examples of regional accents in every EU country for example, or the evolution of Spanish in Latin America.

Yet the language spoken should be intelligible by all those who speak it.
No pride in butchering a language.
Or speaking too fast, not separating words.

Education is power!
There is no wrong way for a Spanish accent. Many Dominicans may feel the Dominican way of speaking (all of them) is wrong and try to correct it, unsually making it worse, but in reality the way all Dominican accents sound are correct. Whether a person like how they sound is a different story and generally, people don’t like as much Spanish accents from the Caribbean. But not liking an accent is not the same as the accent is wrong.

El Hijo de Manolo

It's outrageous, egregious, preposterous!
Dec 10, 2021
Dominican Republic