The winning senators; some are newcomers; opposition gets 3 of 32 senator seats


Staff member
Feb 20, 2019

The Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM) will be absolute majority in the Senate with all but six of the 32 seats. But of these six seats, only three are of an opposition party, the others are of minority parties that backed the Luis Abinader presidential candidacy. The absolute majority gives the ruling party the number of legislators to modify the 2015 Constitution or pass any other legislation.

The ruling PRM and allies only lost to Fuerza del Pueblo candidates in La Romana (Eduard Espiritusanto), San Juan de la Maguana (Felix Bautista) and the National District (Omar Fernandez).

The PRM-allied politicians who won were in the provinces of La Altagracia – with Rafael Barón Duluc of the Partido Liberal Reformista, Bahoruco with Guillermito Lama of the Partido Alianza por la Democracia (APD), and Antonio Marte, who was reelected to the position this time...

Continue reading...
Last edited: