Black in Latin America- Ep. 1- Haiti & the Dominican Republic- An Island Divided

Status
Not open for further replies.

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
The opposite is true. Immigration restrictions have been eased and many more Dominicans are getting visas for even up to 10 years. This is a response to a study the US Embassy did and discovered that the fraud rate that was expected for Dominicans was exaggerated. Also, Dominican emigration to the US has been falling steady for quite a few years.

LINKS? STATS?

i get so tired of the he said he said

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I've read the history Africaida, Black historians themselves have admitted that West Africans helped the Europeans build the same forts that were later used to enslave them.
This is true. Even Dr. Gates confirmed this and also all the lies that African Americans tell themselves in order to justify the resentment and hatred many of them have towards whites (he didn't put it in those exact words, but that's basically what he said). Here, have a look and lend your ears:

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ELaZpZovbkM?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Plenty of myths exist within the African American community that simply keeps the resentments alive. This is why so many of them feel uncomfortable referring to themselves as just Americans, although many also have no problems with that.

Its precisely those myths that causes many mixed race Americans to adopt a false monoracial identity. By extension, those myths and the omissions can also explain the attacks against Dominicans that comes from certain groups.

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
thanks so much for posting this clip Nals.

what a breath of fresh air

we are all recovering racists! awesome quote