Who can stop this tragedy?

Gabriela

Bronze
Dec 4, 2003
According to the Saturday Toronto Star: A more plausible scenario, according to Baptiste, is that children may be exiting the country by car through Haiti's 360-kilometre border with the Dominican Republic where they could be more easily equipped with falsified papers and sold to the highest bidder.

Orphaned children are being sold as sex slaves, and the pedophiles are avoiding the airports in Haiti because papers are needed. How can we stop this from happening?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A few minutes ago I was watching ABC News and the news anchor very quickly mentioned that a group of people were arrested at the border attempting to smuggle Haitian kids into the DR. The arrest came after they failed to supply proper documentation to justify the entry of the kids into Dominican territory. Among the arrested was the head of an NGO organization (a charity) from the US.

I'll see if there is anything about this online, if I find anything I'll add a link.

Didn't take long to find an article about this:

Americans arrested taking children out of Haiti

Gabriela

Bronze
Dec 4, 2003
Let's all write Oprah!

Obviously there is a need for legitimate refuge within Haiti and the DR for orphans. Is there any foster parenting system in either country to aid these children while awaiting final word on their families?

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
NALs: aslo mentioned tonight on CNN.

I hope that this is going to be stopped...

This is only the tip of the issues facing Haiti now...

God help them.

HB

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago
The news link provided was a group of US missionaries that had collected some 30 odd kids that they were relocating to the DR to establish an orphanage. It was coordinated with a Haitan Pastor in PAP.

Human trafficking - not likely. Illegal - probably. The right thing to do - most certainly.

Lambada

Gold
Mar 4, 2004
www.ginniebedggood.com