Jumbo in San Francisco de Macorís

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A new Jumbo is currently under construction in San Francisco de Macorís.

------

It seems the city is going through a boom. If you wonder why, the entire southern and western sides of the city are booming. These are aerial images mostly of the southern side. Hardly any expats live in or near SFM and the same could be said of international tourists as almost none are seen there, unlike in places like Las Terrenas, Cabarete, Sosúa, even in Puerto Plata. This could explain why SFM isn't in the radar of expats. It is far from the besch, so that could be it too.

It will be one of the competition of Jumbo in SFM, the new Bravo supermarket.

The main road through the southern part and the official entry/exit for those going/coming from Santo Domingo.

One of the typical neighborhoods in this part of town.

Another typical one in this part of town.

One of the official baseball stadiums of LIDOM. The home of the Gigantes, the other official team of the Cibao in the Dominican winter baseball season.

Supposedly, the government is building a beltway. Who knows when it will be complete. I tell you this, unlike the planned beltway for Cabarete, at least this is partially under construction. Then again, San Francisco is much larger than Cabarete and, most importantly, has many more voters.

Last edited:
Reactions: rey

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
Lots and lots of money in San Francisco de Macoris

I'll let you guess where a lot of it comes from.

SFM has lost more young men to drugs and/or dealing than any other town in the DR.

Reactions: chico bill

M4kintosh

May 23, 2023
Santiago De Los Caballeros
A new Jumbo is currently under construction in San Francisco de Macorís.

------